Home > Articles, Gym Gear > Review: New Balance Minimus Cross Trainer

Review: New Balance Minimus Cross Trainer

NB Minimus X-TrainerI believe I’m finally ready to do my review of the New Balance Minimus Cross Trainer shoe. After many workouts I can honestly say I have used these shoes for every exercise you could possibly do at a gym.

Style:

wx20sp_nb_02_iThe Minimus Cross Trainer is so stylish the design is screaming out for the attention of others. My pair is mainly black with the sole of the shoe bright red. The red sole is eye catching and adds flair to the shoe. I really love the colors. Since black is my favorite color to wear to the gym and red is my favorite outside of the gym, it was a no-brainer. My fiancée’s pair is grey and hot pink. Not my favorite colors in the world, but she likes it.

Durability:

It felt a little weird because I always try not to scuff my new shoes. However, since these were gym shoes I did a full workload on them! I haven’t noticed any changes in comfort or rips. The only thing that worries me is the right sole at the top of my shoe. It looks like it’s starting to peel. Compared to the left shoe it is noticeable.

Running:

I would not recommend running in this shoe. It is possible to do some light running to warm up before your workout, but I wouldn’t run more than one mile in this shoe. The package the shoe came in even warns owners that this shoe puts more pressure on your heel and Achilles tendon.

Weightlifting:

This is what this shoe was made for. I find that the Minimus is great for my leg workouts (squats and dead lifts). The shoe is so light it almost feels like you are not wearing any shoe at all. When putting on the NB Minimus the shoe almost locks the mid sole of your foot to the heel in place to restrict movement. this was extremely useful when I was squatting. The design of the shoe helped me push off my heels instead of my toes when doing my squats.

Conclusion:

The shoe is currently only about $100 retail. It is definitely worth the investment. I have owned the shoe for 4 months now and I couldn’t be happier. These shoes have improved my form when I squat and deadlift. I feel like my knees are under less stress when I use these shoes for heavy lifting. I would recommend the Minimus shoe to anyone who wants a affordable and stylish weightlifting shoe for the avid gym rat. If I had one piece of criticism, I wish they had more variety in color selection. 

  1. Chaf
    October 20, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    I just got a pair last week and wore them over the weekend while moving. It feels like they bruised my left Achilles and I haven’t been able to put them on pain free since Saturday. It makes me sad and annoyed because I love the shoe. Have you had any similar issues at all?

    • October 20, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      I wouldn’t use the shoes again until your foot feels better. I haven’t had any issues like that so far with this shoe. I do notice more pressure being distributed toward my heel, but no pain or discomfort.

      I would not use these shoes for moving. Moving could take hours. Even though the NB X-Trainer is made for lifting, it is not intended for long durations of walking/running activities.

      I hope your foot feels better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment